Out of the Atheist Closet

This is my first post, so let me tell you a little something about myself:

I am an atheist. I do not believe in the god(s) of any religion. There is NO evidence to support the existence of a supernatural being that has created anything much less the entire universe. It’s utter bullshit! Made up by humans throughout the ages to explain things which they were unable to comprehend, religion is nothing more than a means by which people allow themselves to be controlled. In the unlikely event that there is a god of some sort, chances are you are not a member of the right religion to help you out anyway. Think about the enormous number of claims that have been made that some particular sect is “the true way.” I’d rather make my bets in Vegas…the odds are better.

Religion is often touted as being benign. Hmmm…what’s that smell? BULLSHIT! again. Look around; the negative effects of religion are visible throught society. Whether the pedophile priest being protected by their church (and it’s not just the catholics with this problem) or the abortion provider murdered by the pro-life zealot or the christian murdered by the fundamentalist hindus. Religion is hypocritical bullshit and needs to be stopped before it succeeds in destroying the very society which created it.

I hope you will join me in exploring what it means to be an atheist. Until next time, I wish you well and hope that reason, not the destructive forces of religion, rules your life. Don’t waste your highly evolved ability to think for yourself.

~ by evangelatheist on March 20, 2009.

3 Responses to “Out of the Atheist Closet”

  1. Howdy, Evangelatheist!

    Saw you at PZ’s and thought I’d scribble you a welcome-to-blogland note ๐Ÿ™‚

    Religion is just one of the issues that get my goat. To me, the overarching issues are credulity, dogma (not in the whiny, inaccurate sense that creationists like to use the word) and end-justifies-the-means dishonesty. That puts me at odds with not just religion, but woo, antivaccinationists, Marxists, Neoconservatives, and even the occasional nonpredictive disciplines in science like String Theory.

    Anything that, as I sometimes say, makes you put loyalty that much above honesty is evil.

    I’m trying to find a clip of something that happened yesterday on Tyra: Steve Harvey apparently told women who were looking for men to run away if they encounter an atheist because “you don’t know where they [sic] moral barometer at”. He should talk.

    Anyhow, hope you have fun out here ๐Ÿ™‚ As I’ve found in past, out on the “fringes” of blog land, you get a fair few reads but very rarely a comment.

    (Heck, quite frankly, I’d blog more if I wasn’t so busy reading PZ and ERV all the time ๐Ÿ™‚

    Take care!

    • Thanks for the welcome! It does get lonely here sometimes, but I can’t complain since I have only recently started to blog. Hope you’ll come back sometime soon. If all else fails, I’ll see you at Pharyngula.

  2. Hi Evangelatheist!

    Also encountered you over at PZ’s place and just dropped by to say hello and welcome to the wacky world of blogging. Hope you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

 
